2008 Indian Premier League

The 2008 Indian Premier League Final was a  Twenty20 cricket match played between the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings on 1 June 2008 at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

To determine the winner of the 2008 Indian Premier League, a professional Twenty 20 cricket league in India.

It ended as the Rajasthan Royals defeating the Chennai Super Kings by three wickets.

The Royals, captained by Shane Warne, topped the group stage table, whereas the Super Kings, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, stood at the third position.

They had defeated the Delhi Daredevils and the Kings XI Punjab respectively in the semi-finals.


Group stage

The Super Kings started its campaign with four consecutive wins, but lost its next three matches to the Daredevils, the Royals and the Deccan Chargers. It qualified for the semifinals after winning four of its last seven league matches.

The Royals has lost first match to the Delhi Daredevils in the Group Stage. However, it won all of its next five matches.

Then, it suffered a defeat against the Mumbai Indians, but went on to win its next six matches.

The two teams played each other two matches in group stage, both the games won by the Rajasthan Royals only.


The Rajasthan Royals plays with Daredevils in the first semi-final. The Daredevils won the toss and elected to field. The Royals got an opening partnership of 65 runs.

Its middle-order batsmen Shane Watson and Yusuf Pathan scored 52 and 45 runs respectively to help it amass 192 runs for the loss of 9 wickets.

Batting second, the Daredevils lost its first five batsmen for just 55 runs. Tillakaratne Dilshan top-scored for the Daredevils with 33 runs.

The Daredevils was All Out in the 17 th over of the match for just 87 runs, and gave a 105-run thumping victory.

Watson, who took 3/10, had the best bowling figures for the Royals, and was awarded the man of the match for his all-round performance.

In the second semi-final, Super Kings plays with Punjab Kings XI. The Kings XI won the toss and elected to bat first.

However, due to good partnership from the Middle lower-order, Punjab got to reach a total of 112/8. Super Kings fast bowler Manpreet Gony took 3 wickets by conceding just 14 runs.

In reply, Super Kings However Parthiv Patel and Suresh Raina  scored a half century each and took the Super Kings to the target with 31 balls to spare.

The Super Kings won the match by nine wickets, and Makhaya Ntini was given the man of the match.

Final Match Venue

The match was hosted by Mumbai because the franchise owner of the Mumbai Indians placed the highest bid for acquisition, which was US $111.9 million.

Before the match, ESPN assistant editor Nagraj Gollapudi identified the Royals as the most likely winner.

Despite being seen as the Underdogs, the Royals finished at the top of the league table, and won 11 matches out of 14 with 22 points.

The Super Kings stood third, behind Kings XI, getting 16 points from eight wins. There were two changes in the Royals’ playing eleven for the final.

Final Match Summary

In a match which went down to the last ball, Rajasthan Royals defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final to win the title, and Shane Watson adjudged the player of the tournament.

Sohail Tanvir won the purple cap for being the top wicket-taking bowler while Shaun Marsh won the orange cap for leading run-scorer in the tournament.

shreevats Goswami was awarded the best under-19 player award and the special award for Fair Play was won by the Chennai Super Kings.

In the final match chennai super kings batted first and scored 163 Runs in 20 overs losing just 5 wickets with Raina scoring 43 runs and pathan taking 3 wickets in his 4 overs.

In reply Rajasthan royals scored 164 runs in the last ball of the match and won the first ever ipl in the year 2008 with yusuf pathan being the highest score with 56 runs.


The Royals received ₹ 48 million (US $ 670,000) and a trophy for being the champions.

Royals players received their medals from Sharad Pawar in the post-match ceremony.

Yusuf Pathan has presented Man of the Match in the Final of 2008 ipl season.

Shane Watson was given the man of the series as he scored 474 runs and took 17 wickets in the Total season.

The Super Kings received ₹ 24 million (US $ 330,000) for being the runners-up.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *