2009 Indian Premier League

The 2009 Indian Premier League season was the second season of the Indian Premier League, established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in the year 2007.

The tournament has played in South Africa in the months of April 18 and  May 24 th year 2009.

It was the second biggest cricket tournament in the world, after the Cricket World Cup.

Basically India have an estimated television viewers of more than 210 million people.

On 24 March 2009, the BCCI announced that second season of the IPL will be held in South Africa.

In addition, the BCCI signed an ₹ 82 billion (US$ 1.63 billion) contract with Multi Screen Media to broadcast matches live from South Africa to India.

The IPL was hosted successfully in South Africa and was hailed as an “extraordinary” accomplishment. 

The tournament was won by Deccan Chargers while the Royal Challengers Bangalore were declared as runners-up.

Group stage

Deccan Chargers started its season with four wins, but lost next three matches to the Delhi , Royals and the Kings.

It qualified for the semifinals after losing its last two league matches.

Bangalore Royal Challengers won its first match in the season to the Royals. But, it lost its next four matches.

Then won Hat trick matches in a row against Knight Riders, Kings XI and Indians.

But again lost next two and it won last 4 matches of the season in a row.

The two teams faced each other in two matches of the group stage, The two matches were won by each team once.

Knock Out Stage 1

The Chargers played the Daredevils in the first knock out Match. Deccan Chargers has won the toss and elected to field first.

The Daredevils failed to make an opening partnership. Gautam Gambhir was out on the 5th ball of the match with a zero run in scorecard for him and the team.

Daredevils were 0/2 But Sehwag and Dilshan added 85 runs in the 3rd wicket partnership.

Soon Sehwag got out scoring 39 from 31 balls. After that the middle order took the run to 150‘s. Daredevils scored 153 for 8 after 20 overs. 

Dilshan scored the highest run for his team. He scored 65 from 51 Chargers pacer  Harris  was the successful bowler with  3/27 in 4 overs.

While Chasing Deccan Chargers lost its first wicket at 22 runs. But captain’s 85 from 35 made easier and reached the target in 17.4 overs.

Adam Gilchrist was awarded as the Man of the match..

Knock Out Stage 2

In the second knock out match chennai played with Bangalore has won the toss and choosed to chase the target.

After making 26 runs at the 61 runs partnership Hayden was out. Then Dhoni came to bat. But his 28 from 30 made the innings slow.

The middle order players Raina and Albie Morkel tried to score quickly. But they could manage to score just 146 for 5 in 20 overs.

Vinay Kumar was successful with 4 from 38 runs. Royal Challengers lost two early wickets.

But 70 runs partnership at 3rd wicket made easier for Bangalore Royal Challengers.

When the score is 92 runs Manish Pandey departs. After another 18 runs at 110 Dravid also got out.

The other batswen didn’t do any mistake and chased 146 with 7 balls and 6 wickets in hand.

Manish Pandey scored 48 from 35 for Royal Challengers while Muttiah Muralitharan took 1 for 15 in 4 overs.

In the end Manish Pandey was awarded as the Man of the match.

Final Match Summary

The 2009 I.P.L Final  was played between the Deccan Chargers and the R.C.B on 24 May 2009.

At the Johannesburg and it ended as Deccan Chargers winning on Bangalore Royal Challengers by 6 runs.

After winning the toss, Bangalore captain Anil Kumble choose to field.

The Chargers scored 143 Runs in 20 overs with a loss of 6 wickets.

Gibbs top scored for the Chargers with 53 runs. Royals Anil Kumble took four wickets for 16 runs.

The Royal Challengers failed to build a opening partnership. It reached 129/9 in the last over But Royal Challengers failed to take 15 runs from the last over bowled by RP Singh.

They got only 8 runs and match ended with Royal Challengers 137/9. Deccan Chargers has won the match by just 6 runs and lifted 2009 Indian Premier League title.

Anil Kumble who was the Best performer for the Royal Challengers ball was named the Man of the Match.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *