2010 Indian Premier League

The 2010 Indian Premier League season was the third season of the Indian Premier League.It was played between 12 March and 25 April 2010.

It was also the first ever cricket tournament that was broadcast live on YouTube.

The tournament was won by the Chennai Super Kings, who defeated the Mumbai Indians in the final played at Mumbai.

The purple cap won by Pragyan Ojha. While the orange cap and the player of the tournament won by Sachin Tendulkar. 


Group Stage

The Super Kings started with a loss against the defending champion Deccan Chargers.

They lost four consecutive matches against Punjab, Royal Challengers, Indians and Rajasthan Royals.

Though the loss against Kings XI came in a Super Over after the match ended in a tie.

But from then they won Hat trick matches against Bangalore, Indians and Royals.

However they won two of their last three matches including their last match of group stage which led them to the knockout stage.

At the end of group stage 20 points from 14 matches were enough for them to be the points table topper.

The two teams faced each other in two matches of the group stage, Indians and Kings won 1 match each.

Knock Out Stage 1

Mumbai played with Royal Challengers in the first semi-final. The Indians won the toss and chooses to bat first.

The Indians didn’t have a good opening partnership. Opener and skipper Sachin Tendulkar was dismissed at 11 runs.

The other opener Shikhar Dhawan got out at 29. But middle order batsmen Tiwary and Rayudu scored 52 and 40 respectively.

Lower order batsman Kieron Pollard scored an unbeaten of 33 from 13 balls to score to 184 for 5 in 20 overs. Steyn took two wickets for 43 runs.

In reply Royal Challengers were never comfortable in chasing down Indians 184. They lost wickets and could score 149 for 9 wickets.

Mumbai won the match by 35 runs and went for the final. Kieron Pollard was named the man of the match.

Knock Out Stage 2

In the second semi-final, Super Kings played with Decann Chargers. Chennai won the toss and choose to bat.

They lost their 3 wickets in just 29 runs.

But later on contributions of 37 and 30 from middle order Badrinath and Dhoni rescued Super Kings and helped to build their innings.

In later part of the innings a cameo of 24 runs from Anirudh helped Super Kings post a total of 142 for 7 on the board. Harris took 3 wickets for 29 runs.

To chase down 142, the chargers started very slow. They lost their first wicket at 19 runs with skipper Gilchrist.

They started losing wickets on regular intervals soon chargers lost all wickets for just 104 runs in 19.2 overs.

Chennai won the match by 38 runs and had to play the third-place playoff where their opponent was the Royal Challengers.

2010 IPL Final                  

The 2010 Indian Premier League Final was played between the Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians on 25 April 2010 at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.

Chennai Batting

After Winning toss chennai captain Dhoni decided to bat. The Super Kings scored 168 runs in 20 overs with a loss of 5 wickets. 

Batting at number three, Suresh Raina top scored for the Super Kings with an unbeaten 57 runs off 35 balls.

Skipper Dhoni scored 22 and a late cameo of 15 from Albie Morkel helped Super Kings to reach the total. Dilhara Fernando took two wickets for 23 runs.

Mumbai Chasing

The Indians failed to build a good opening partnership with their opener Shikhar Dhawan got out at 1 run.

However partnership of 67 runs in second wicket showed hope to the Indians.

48 runs from skipper Sachin Tendulkar and a 27 off 10 balls cameo from Kieron Pollard wasn’t enough to reach the target of 169.

They scored 146 in the allotted 20 overs with a loss of 9 wickets. 

Shadab Jakati got 2 wickets and Muralidharan, Bollinger, Suresh Raina, Morkel got 1 wicket each.

Chennai won the match by 22 runs and lifted their first Indian Premier League Title.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *